Vicar’s Tea Party

In a previous life I had everything matching, new and preferably expensive. I used to buy my herbs and spices in Harvey Nichols because they were packaged in nice little tins. FFS. These days it’s charity shops and Lidl and the little tins get refilled with 19p Asda smart price mixed herbs! I wouldn’t have it any other way.

20120306-184332.jpg

So instead of posh matching china, I’m putting together a totally mismatched set of “Old Lady” floral bone china, gathered from charity shops, eBay and wherever I can get them cheap. No old ladies were harrassed in the assembly of my tea set!

My parents came for tea today so I did an old fashioned “Vicar’s tea party”; triangular sandwiches with the crusts cut off, scones with strawberry jam and clotted cream, triple chocolate cakes and tiny lemon drizzle cakes. With doilies, obviously. Add to that my birthday tea set in slightly worn silver plate, we had a lovely afternoon.

20120306-184832.jpg

Oh, and no Vicars were harmed in the course of the tea party. Especially my Dad, who is one 😉

Leave a Reply

