Happy Mothers’ Day!

20120318-115205.jpg

Happy Mothers’ Day to all you mummies out there 🙂 Despite being one myself, it’s always been a sad day for me, now it’s more bittersweet. To cut a long story short, I was adopted as a baby with all the best intentions and for all the right reasons. I always have been and always will be happy with that. My adoptive parents were so lovely, and I consider myself very lucky. Sadly, my adoptive mum died very suddenly in 1998, when I was just 24. I was absolutely devastated, and still am. Time doesn’t heal pain like that but it does make it easier to live with.

My parents were always very up front and open about my adoption and told me as much as they could about my origins. I wondered about my birth mum pretty much every day, and eventually I was ready to track her down. I obtained my records from social services in 2003, and learned a bit more. I was pregnant with Scroticule at the time, and was content to leave it at that.

One Wednesday in September 2010, I had that raging desire to use what I had found out and just find her. A quick search through the online electoral roll plus some rifling through the BMD records to double check, and I had an address that I was 99% confident was the right one. It took less than an hour.

So I wrote a letter. I should have gone through official channels, I know, but I had to strike while the iron was hot! Actually I wrote two letters, a covering one to ask if I’d got the right person, and another, more personal one with photographs for if I had. I had a wonderful email the next evening, and we emailed for a few days before speaking on the phone. We met up a couple of weeks later, and it’s gone from strength to strength since then. We are so similar it’s frightening! But fabulous 🙂

I’m lucky enough to have learned from the mistakes I made in my relationship with my other mum to really try and get this one right. It’s a rare oppurtunity that very few people get. I made this pendant for her for Mothers’ Day so that she knows how loved she really is.

20120318-125118.jpg

So happy Mothers’ Day to both my mums. Thinking of you both, as I do every day xxx

Leave a Reply

