Stacked

20120422-202223.jpg

My name is Mel and I am a MAGPIE. Unsuprisingly I have quite an array of sparkly rocks to gaze at, fondle and occasionally make into jewellery. While diamonds may be a girl’s best friend, cubic zirconia make damn good drinking buddies. Loud and glittery.

Round stones are pretty easy to set, and I think I’ve pretty much got the hang of those, and I like a challenge, so I had a go with the purple marquise I had. Quite a modern looking setting, this, involving doming a disc of silver and cutting it in two before soldering the outside edges together. It looks a little like a boat.

It looked a little lonely, so I decided to make it part of a set of stacking rings. I thought the Suffragette colours of green, white and violet would make a nice set, and coincidentally would match a couple of my dresses rather nicely! I picked an 8mm intense green brilliant cut round CZ and an 11mm triangular one in white.

I liked geometry at school, so made a first attempt at a conical setting for the emerald-ish rock. It took a fair bit of drawing with a protractor and compasses to make a template, but I think it worked out pretty well. As for the white stone (oooh, imagining a DIAMOND this big!), that was a case of cutting half a hexagon, folding into three and soldering the joint.

Soldering the mounts to matching rings, setting the stones and polishing to different levels of satin finish was the final step, I’m really chuffed with how they turned out. Now, keep or sell, keep or sell?

20120422-202651.jpg

Leave a Reply

